Clear your browser history
If you do not want anyone to know that you have visited the HIV Wake-up website please read the information below.
What information does your browser store?
Every time you use the internet your internet browser saves pieces of information such as images, search terms or words used in search engines and login names. This helps the pages you visit frequently load faster by loading the files from your hard disk drive instead of having to downloading the web page in full again. These are saved as 'cookies' and they can mark a trail or 'history' that reveals what you have been looking at online.
Below are instructions on how to minimise the chances of someone finding out that you have visited this website.
If you are unsure what browser you are using click on ‘Help’ on the toolbar at the top of the browser screen. A drop down menu will appear, the last entry will say ‘About Internet Explorer’, ‘About Mozilla Firefox’, or something similar that corresponds to your browser. You can then follow the relevant instructions below.
Note: There is a risk involved in removing data from your computer. Removing cookies may clear saved passwords for membership sites or online banking.
Microsoft Internet Explorer
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 7.x users can view their history files by clicking the ‘Tools’ menu, ‘Internet Options’, clicking the ‘Settings’ button under the Browsing history, and then clicking the ‘View Files’ button.
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 6.x users can view their history files by clicking the ‘Tools’ menu, ‘Internet Options’, clicking the ‘Settings’ button, and then clicking the ‘View Files’ button.
- Microsoft Windows users running Microsoft Internet Explorer 6.x and 7.x can delete their history files by clicking the ‘Tools’ menu, ‘Internet Options’, and clicking the ‘Delete Files’ or ‘Delete’ button. Users also have the option of automatically deleting files each time they close the browser window by clicking the ‘Advanced’ tab and checking ‘Empty Temporary Internet Files folder when browser is closed’ under the ‘Security’ section.
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 4.x users on an Apple Macintosh can delete the history by clicking the ‘Hard Drive’ icon, ‘System’, ‘Preferences’, ‘Explorer’, and moving the history file into the trash.
- Microsoft Internet Explorer 3.02 and lower users can delete their history by clicking the ‘View’ menu, ‘Options’, open the tab ‘Advanced’, click the ‘Settings’ tab, and click the ‘Empty Folder’ button.
- Press Ctrl + H to open the left-side history bar or click ‘History’ at the top of the window.
- Users using earlier versions of Mozilla Firefox can also view their history by clicking ‘Go’ and clicking ‘History’.
- Mozilla Firefox users can clear their history by clicking the ‘Tools’ menu, ‘Options’, clicking the ‘Piracy’ button, and under ‘History’ click the ‘Clear’ or ‘Clear Now’ button.
- Microsoft Windows users can view history by first opening Netscape and click the ‘Edit’ menu, ‘Preferences’, ‘History’, and view the location where Netscape is storing your files. Next, open this folder within Explorer.
- Netscape users can delete their history files by clicking the ‘Edit’ menu, ‘Preferences’, ‘History’, and click the ‘Clear History’ button.
- Users can view their history files by opening the ‘cache’ folder within their opera folder. Microsoft Windows users can often find this within C:Program filesOpera
- Opera users can delete their history by clicking the ‘File’ menu, ‘Preferences’, ‘History’, and click ‘Empty now’ button. In addition, users can check ‘Empty on exit’ if they wish for this task to occur each time they exit the browser.
- Resetting Safari clears the history, empties the cache, clears the Downloads window, and removes all cookies. It also removes any saved user names and passwords or other AutoFill data and clears Google/Yahoo search entries. To do this go to the Safari menu at top left hand screen. Choose ‘Reset Safari’, and click ‘Reset’.
- Toolbars such as Google, AOL and Yahoo also record the search words you have typed into the search box. To remove all the search words you have typed in, check the individual instructions for your toolbar. For example, for the Google toolbar all you need to do is click on the Google icon, and choose ‘Clear Search History’.